Creating radius with ball end mill

Discussion on all milling machines vertical & horizontal, including but not limited to Bridgeports, Hardinge, South Bend, Clausing, Van Norman, including imports.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

seal killer

Creating radius with ball end mill

Post by seal killer »

All--

From 3/8" x 3/4" x 1 1/2" bronze stock, I need to create a 5/16" diameter piece about a half inch long with a shoulder on one end. Below the shoulder the piece is rectangular. (The remainder of the 1 1/2" length is for work holding.) Between the diameter and the rectangular part I want a radius. My idea is to mount the workpiece (vertically, so it is 1 1/2" tall) on one of my little rotary tables on the mill and use a 1/8" ball end mill to create the radius. But, I do not know the procedure to rough it down from that 3/4" dimension to something close to the 5/16" diameter.

I have only used a ball end mill once, so I have no real experience with them.

(As I type, I wonder if I am answering my own question.)

Should I rough it down to around 3/8" square with a larger end mill and then finish it with the 1/8" ball end mill, which would result in creating both the diameter (as I rotate the table) and the radius?

Alternatively, I could mount it in the four-jaw and turn it with a bit with the appropriate radius, but using such a bit puts me on even less familiar ground.

--Bill
ps I plan to clamp the workpiece in a little precision tool maker's vise which is aligned with the rotary table which is aligned with the mill's spindle. I have quite a bit of experience using a rotary table in such fashion.
You are what you write.
Mr Ron

Re: Creating radius with ball end mill

Post by Mr Ron »

I would turn it on the lathe holding the piece in a 4-jaw. The tool bit would be a round nose with a 1/16" radius. Feed from right to left; then back out to face the square portion.
Mr.Ron from South Mississippi
GlennW

Post by GlennW »