Union Pacific Big Boy 4012 in 1.5"

Where users can chronicle their builds. Start one thread and continue to add on to it.

Moderator: Harold_V

DanSmo

Union Pacific Big Boy 4012 in 1.5"

Post by DanSmo »

After numerous requests from other forum members I've run out of excuses, so here it is... my build log.

I'm Dan, I'm currently 27 years old, I'm a Boilermaker by trade and I live in Melbourne, Australia. I've loved trains my whole life and my true passion is steam to diesel transition-era Union Pacific. Since I saw my first pictures of Big Boys in books and magazines I've loved them, so I decided I would build one. I bought my first lot of castings from Roger Goldman when I was 19 in 2008, but with other interests, fast cars, girls etc. the castings sat in their box until 2014 when I again found the passion. Since then I've steadily been making bits, pieces and details while I save and purchase the rest of the castings.
I just don't understand pronouncing solder as "sodder"... where did the L go?
redneckalbertan

Re: Union Pacific Big Boy 4012 in 1.5"

Post by redneckalbertan »

Looking forward to the build log!
DanSmo

Post by DanSmo »

I figured the best place to start is at the front with the distinctive cast pilot. With no casting available I rolled out the drawing and went about fabricating it as accurately as possible to the original including all the internal structures and reinforcements.
Attachments
Cutting sections from sheet
Cutting sections from sheet
1459006_10151728679595222_1231718628_n.jpg
Welding the internal structure
Welding the internal structure
milling the face before welding the cover
milling the face before welding the cover
Cover welded on, ground smooth, primed ready for marking and cutting the slots
Cover welded on, ground smooth, primed ready for marking and cutting the slots
DanSmo

Post by DanSmo »

Once the seams were welded and ground and all the slots were cut I had this. Fairly happy with the result.
Attachments