Cupola Caboose Rebuild

Where users can chronicle their builds. Start one thread and continue to add on to it.

Moderator: Harold_V

ccvstmr

Cupola Caboose Rebuild

Post by ccvstmr »

Contacted one of the board moderators a while back (thank you HB)...as the "Build Log" contains many threads for a) Building Locomotives, b) Rebuilding Locomotives and c) Building Rolling Stock. Searching the archives (maybe I didn't go back far enough), I didn't find anything about Rebuilding Rolling Stock. So, I thought I'd fill that gap. Perhaps as I explain the process, others will pick up some of the tips, tricks and techniques I used to restore a cupola caboose and tuck those away for their next rolling stock build...or next rebuild project.

MY STORY

Like many large scale model railroaders, I got started at a young age with a Lionel set. While in high school, I opted for something a bit smaller, something where more railroad could be built in a smaller space. I graduated to HO. Wasn't until after school and I started traveling for work, that the idea for a sectional RR was born (not modular). Later on, I used to get together with several other guys for layout construction and operating sessions. It wasn't until we received an invite to the local live steam club (with 3.5", 4.75" and 7.5" gauge tracks)...that I was sold on something you could ride and really operate. Anybody want to buy a sectional model RR?

While most hobbyists might start with a locomotive, me and the HO partners opted to [pool our resources and experience and start by building a piece of rolling stock. One day they told me about a live steam club "elder" that had a backyard foundry. $200 for a set of aluminum trucks...another $30 bought a pair of aluminum couplers. I plopped down $200 and told the guys to get the trucks and let's get started (I wasn't a member of the local club yet...but I was single at the time).