2-1/2", 65 ton New Mexico Lumber Co Shay (Lima C/N 1762)

Where users can chronicle their builds. Start one thread and continue to add on to it.

Moderator: Harold_V

jamespnelson

2-1/2", 65 ton New Mexico Lumber Co Shay (Lima C/N 1762)

Post by jamespnelson »

I am slowly (but picking up steam) building the above mentioned Shay in 2-1/2" scale, narrow gauge to run on 7.5" track. I made the wheel patterns and had them cast at a local foundry, and am turning them now. I started with the tender frame, then the left side journal boxes. I'm using John Buckwalter's castings for those. Any observations, suggestions or hints as I progress would be greatly appreciated. I'm not a machinist by trade, but am pretty good with my hands.

Jim
Attachments
IMG_1142.jpg
IMG_1142.jpg (26.37 KiB) Viewed 13618 times
Wheel Casting
Wheel Casting
IMG_1114.jpg (57.69 KiB) Viewed 13618 times
Turning a wheel on my Clausing lathe
Turning a wheel on my Clausing lathe
Project
2-1/2" Scale, Class C 65 Ton Shay

Bits of wisdom:
Ray's Rules of Precision: Measure with micrometer, mark with chalk, cut with axe.
"The art of medicine consists of amusing the patient while nature cures the disease.” ― Voltaire
jamespnelson

Re: 2-1/2", 65 ton New Mexico Lumber Co Shay (Lima C/N 1762)

Post by jamespnelson »

Here is the beginning of machining the left side journal on my cheap shameless Smithy mill. I'm rather embarrassed to admit I own it, but the price was very right ($250.00) and came with a bunch of tooling, collets, and good quality measuring tools. I've since replaced the angle iron with a proper webbed angle plate. I've also added DRO to all three axis, which has been a tremendous help.
Attachments
Machining the bottom to get a working edge.
Machining the bottom to get a working edge.
Left side journals
Left side journals
Project

Bits of wisdom:
Ray's Rules of Precision: Measure with micrometer, mark with chalk, cut with axe.