7 1/2 gauge 4" Hunslet build, Reeves castings

Where users can chronicle their builds. Start one thread and continue to add on to it.

Moderator: Harold_V

lucius Gale

7 1/2 gauge 4" Hunslet build, Reeves castings

Post by lucius Gale »

This is a new blog/thread/whatever 4" scale, 7 1/2 gauge Hunslet build using the Reeves casting kit with drawings and laser cut side frames. Those parts are ordered and maybe 2-3 weeks they will be here. I am a total newbie concerning locomotives so I'm not even sure what all comes in the box and at this point I only have a general idea of what else I will need to get. The purpose of this thread is twofold: First will be to get advice as I go along and second is maybe someone else will find the novice information useful for their questions if they are thinking about following the same path.

I am not sure exactly how I will approach the build at this point. Probably build up the frame, machine the running gear and then the proverbial "running on air" and see how it goes from there. I am mainly interested in machining and then firing and running the engine. I am not so interested in exact scale or fine detail to the prototype. That said I will attempt to make it as close as economically (time and money) possible to "correct". This will be a half cab build.

I am retired and old enough to know that this may be "the journey" and not the destination. Someone else may have to take it from wherever I am unable to finish.

I have a decent home machine shop and good gearhead skills with my life's work having been electronics communication and earlier motorcycle mechanic. I am pretty well versed in the operation of most tools and I even had a stint as an apprentice machinist in a real machine shop for 3-4 months. I will say in advance Thank You to all who answer questions and offer advice.
lucius Gale

Re: 7 1/2 gauge 4" Hunslet build, Reeves castings

Post by lucius Gale »