Rebuild of an Allen Mogul.

Where users can chronicle their builds. Start one thread and continue to add on to it.

Moderator: Harold_V

utahwestie

Rebuild of an Allen Mogul.

Post by utahwestie »

Hello All,

I've been lurking here for awhile. I've decided that I need to contribute to the hobby by documenting the rebuild of this Allen Mogul that I've recently picked up.

I'm a ex pat Kiwi( from New Zealand) now living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I am a full time machinist, and am incredibly lucky to have access to some of the equipment that I can use on this rebuild. I've put up several postings asking about this and that, mainly with the accessories that this loco came with, steam pump, generator, etc..... I've developed a somewhat healthy obsession with steam pumps. :D

Time will be limited due to I have a young family( 2 boys under 5), so it maybe slower than some can do it, but I'll be having fun along the way,

Thanks for the time, and special thanks to Steve Alley for helping with some castings that I needed for this loco, and Mike from Little engines for the advice and the two new safety valves.
Attachments
mogul 1.jpg
mogul 2.jpg
mogul3.jpg
~Anthony~
~Ex Pat Kiwi now living in Salt Lake City, Utah
utahwestie

Re: Rebuild of an Allen Mogul.

Post by utahwestie »

I forgot to thank Marty Knox for helping me identify this as a Allen Mogul not a Harpur.
~Anthony~
NP317

Post by NP317 »

Welcome. I'll enjoy watching your progress.
~RN
jcbrock

Post by jcbrock »

Finish it in time to infect those boys with the hobby!
John Brock
Jawn

Post by Jawn »

Looking forward to it... I'm planning to start building one of these in the not too distant future (gathering parts now).
PeterCraymer

Post by PeterCraymer »

Looks like fun. Is that your Shenwai lathe in the background? I picked one of those up a number of years ago and have built many parts on it.
tyleire

Post by tyleire »