Stainless steel boiler

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

86turbodsl

Stainless steel boiler

Post by 86turbodsl »

That ought to be enough of a subject to get some attention... :)

Hello, I just joined. I thought this might be a good venue to ask a question or two.
I'll start off by saying I'm new here, but not to forums. Please be gentle. I'm going to ask a few controversial questions.
I am not trolling. I'm serious.

I'm a mechanical engineer, working in internal combustion engine design for one of the automotive oems. My background is
in heat transfer and base engine design, not steam. But i have an application that i want to discuss.

I'm not into steam engines, although i think they are neat. One of my other hobbies is homebrewing beer. As a result of that hobby,
there is a process i'd like to add to my brewing that involves generating a fair amount of steam. Steam because it's gentler on the
beer during the brew process.

Now that's out of the way, let me ask my question.
I want to build a stainless steel boiler. I know before anyone says it, that stainless is a very poor choice. I'm aware of the stress corrosion issues with stainless austenitic series steels with this application. However, I need very very clean steam. I'm injecting it right into a food/drink. I am very worried about rusting over time causing issues with quality. Now let me clarify my operating point. I am planning to run this boiler at about 10-15 psi / 240-250F, pretty low pressure. It's mainly about getting the correct temp into the product. less than 212F, no heat moves. Over 250ish, you burn the product.

I wanted to build this boiler out of a 1/4 barrel beer keg, which is comprised of the following:
14 gauge stainless (approximately 0.0751" thickness, 304 series)
Approximate diameter 16"

Running the pressure vessel calcs on it:

85,000 psi * 0.0751 / 8" radius = about 800 psi burst.