Balancing engine

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

seal killer

Balancing engine

Post by seal killer »

All--

I would like to balance a single cylinder, single acting spool valve engine I built. My intention is to balance the flywheel to the engine. I've never done this before. To achieve balance, do you remove as much weight from the flywheel as the piston, connecting rod and crank pin weigh?

--Bill
Last edited by seal killer on Sat Jul 11, 2015 6:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.
You are what you write.
david griner

Re: Balancing engine

Post by david griner »

This might be of interest to you:

The Balancing of Engines, W.E. Dalby :

https://books.google.com/books?id=Bk9DA ... by&f=false

Dave
Fred_V

Post by Fred_V »

Simply put you weigh the big end of the main rod and the ecc. rod big end. Remove that amount of weight from the flywheel. The eccentric will be a problem as it is not in line with the crankpin so you will have to use some judgement.

Set the crank/flywheel shaft on knife edges and add the weight of the above mentioned parts to the crankpin and ecc. and start removing flywheel weight until the assembly rolls on the knife edges without rolling back to find the heavy spot. You can also add weight opposite the crankpin to balance it if you remove too much. You should be able to get pretty close this way.
Fred V
Pensacola, Fl.
seal killer

Post by seal killer »

Dave and Fred--

Dave, thanks for the link to the book.

Fred, thank you for the explanation. It will get me started.

--Bill
You are what you write.
ken572

Post by ken572 »

david griner wrote:This might be of interest to you:

The Balancing of Engines, W.E. Dalby :

https://books.google.com/books?id=Bk9DA ... by&f=false

Dave
Hello :!:Dave :D
Thanks for the GREAT FIND 8)

That book can be helpful for anything

that rotates.

Ken. :)
One must remember.
The best learning experiences come
from working with the older Masters.
Ken.