Gunmetal, etc.....

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

ironhorseriley

Gunmetal, etc.....

Post by ironhorseriley »

Hello everyone,

I am appreciating the expertise and advice from the well seasoned in this group and hope to not be reopening a subject that may have a thread I have missed.

Not being a machinist, I am trying to wrap my head around the uses of some materials, specifically, what is gunmetal? I have seen it mentioned in sevaral projects in other build groups as well. It is mentioned a lot in Jack's book on building the Sweet Pea also. It got me thinking about the axle boxes he specifies for the drive wheel axles and to make them out of gunmetal. The drawings and the book do not mention bushings for the axles to rub on and nothing in the prints either. I know the axle boxes will be rubbing and sliding against the horn blocks in the frame.

I am wondering about making aluminum axle boxes with bronze or brass bushings also, but overall I have noticed by and large aluminum is frowned upon for most uses in making a live steam locomotive model.

Can brass or bronze be substituted for gunmetal? I do need to get it right on the appropriate uses of the differant metals used in this hobby, such as brass and bronze.

Thanks again,

Jim
Jim, Former railroader, fascinated by wood working & “all things engineered”.
SteveM

Re: Gunmetal, etc.....

Post by SteveM »

In Joe Nelson's book there was a chart showing different metal to metal contacts and which were good bearing surfaces and which were not.

Aluminum pretty much sucked with everything, while cast iron was great and bronze was a close second, IIRC.

Aluminum tends to gall easily.

Gunmetal is red brass (a type of bronze):
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gunmetal

LBSC recommends it on may parts, particularly cylinders.

Steve
FLtenwheeler

Post by FLtenwheeler »