New guy with questions

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

Mark D

New guy with questions

Post by Mark D »

Hi to all, and you all know I'm a new guy here.

In my real life I work with 12" to the foot steam, but somehow I wound up with a 7 1/2" gauge Clyshay locomotive. It's a long story nobody cares about.
If I didn't accept if from the son of the man who built it, it would have been scrapped several years ago.

But I don't really want it. I don't have the time to deal with it, I don't really want to be laying track all over my property, although I have plenty of space.

I have been tripping over it in my basement for too many years now and have decided I should sell it.
But there are two problems; I don't know how to find a buyer and I don't know what I should accept as an offer.
I can and will submit some photo's, but right now I'm not in a position to do so. It has little to no use on it, judging by the firebox and the overall look of it. The water tank is in good shape, almost like new, as is the rest of it. It uses some sort of link and pin coupler on each end. Haven't seen that style of coupler before.

I removed the engine and lightly oiled it and turned it by hand to make sure it is free. I ran it for a few seconds with compressed air.
Having other things more pressing, it is still removed. I will re-install it however.

I'm interested in any and all comments and thoughts those who work with live steam may have. I will be back soon with photo's.

Thanks

Mark D.
cbrew

Re: New guy with questions

Post by cbrew »

whats you location? maybe find a local club and take it out there and see if there is any interest
If it is not live steam. its not worth it.
Mark D

Post by Mark D »

I live in central MN. Don't know of any live steam operations around here. Maybe something around the metro area, but don't know how to find them if they're there.