kozo A3 switcher build

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

sky

kozo A3 switcher build

Post by sky »

Hello,
This is my first build. I'm looking for help on the boiler. Kozo says to machine the arcs of the fire box, the backhead, and throat plate should I machine the straight edges too?
sky
Harold_V

Re: kozo A3 switcher build

Post by Harold_V »

If you're dealing with shorn edges, it's often a good idea to machine them, assuming you have excess material. They tend to include pent up stresses that often influence how flat a piece may be, to say nothing of the somewhat distorted thickness, where a sharp edge is formed on the bottom, often with some flashing, and a rounded upper face, where the blade makes the cut.

Note that I am not a boiler maker. Those who are may have a totally different view of the subject. I'm speaking from the position of the guy who used to build tooling for the aero-space industry.

H
Wise people talk because they have something to say. Fools talk because they have to say something.
Bill Shields

Post by Bill Shields »

machine all edges so that you know what you have when you start assembly.

after you bang the copper around the formers, you get odd heights everywhere.
Too many things going on to bother listing them.
NP317

Post by NP317 »

Rule of thumb;
Any two surfaces that will be in contact should have machined edges.
Especially required for silver-brazed surfaces as used in Kozo's copper boilers.
~RN
Builder01

Post by Builder01 »