The Drill Press Whirlygig

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

Greg_Lewis

The Drill Press Whirlygig

Post by Greg_Lewis »

The drill press whirligig.

Wikipedia defines a whirligig as an object that whirls or spins or has at least one part that does so. Some folks make comic ones to park on their front lawns, wherein a wind-driven propeller powers an animated figure that moves about.

Well, on the thread about how to drill and ream a large hole with a drill press, [http://www.chaski.org/homemachinist/vie ... 8&t=107086] I said I’d tell you the story of my drill press whirligig.

My adventures in machining began many years ago when I got a taste of it at a hobby shop where I worked as a kid, and in the Navy when I worked in a camera repair shop. Lathes always fascinated me but I never could afford one. At the hobby shop I lusted for the Unimat we had for sale but at my minimum wage of $1 per hour the price was out of reach. The shop did have a small Dunlap lathe in the back that I used on occasion to make replacement parts for model railroad engines customers would bring in. When I worked in the camera repair shop we had a substantial 12-inch lathe but we never used it for our work as we had an ample parts supply for the aerial cameras we worked on. I would sometimes play with it on duty nights but there wasn’t much I could do with it since I had no clue as to what I was doing and we didn’t have any raw material to work with.