I'm just an operator

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

AnthonyDuarte

I'm just an operator

Post by AnthonyDuarte »

Hi Everyone,

Before I begin, never in a million years would I sit here and suggest that CNC is better than manual machining, nor visa versa. I simply don't believe that to be true. I have a manual mill and a manual lathe, and I have no intention of getting rid of either one. They are invaluable tools and are used almost daily.

I already regret writing this post since I'm tired of seeing this topic, but I'm hoping I can clear up some misconceptions about CAM/CNC.
As someone who designs his own products, figures out how to manufacture them, and then makes them in production for our hobby using CNC, it's tiring seeing the attitude come up over and over that if you run CNC equipment, there's no way you posses the skill necessary to be a machinist.

I think we can all agree that pushing a button does not make you a machinist, in the same way that simply turning a dial does not make you a machinist.

CNC can absolutely be set up for people to operate that have no idea what they're doing, but other factors go into judging the skill of a machinist: ability to interpret a blueprint, think of the steps to make the part, build any necessary fixtures, and of course hold tolerance while maintaining the required surface finishes.

I have bad news. All these things apply just as equally to both manual and CNC machining.

Here's a comprehensive list of the things that programming software decides for the programmer:
1) Nothing

The programmer has to have an extensive knowledge of what tools are available, which ones are practical for the current job, and the best feeds/speeds to use for that particular tool given the material, machining strategies to be used, and of course limitations of the machine.