Spark Arrestor

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

pwcphoto

Spark Arrestor

Post by pwcphoto »

I have heard that Train Mountain now requires all coal and diesel fired locomotives to have a spark arrestor on the stack to prevent fires. Does anyone have a design of a good Train Mountain approved spark arrestor?

I will be putting it on an RMI Prairie which is oil fired so it will be fairly large I would guess.

Thanks,

Phil
"I used to be a rocket scientist, now i am just a space cadet"

RMI 3.75" scale Prairie 2-6-2 under construction.
View Progress
http://www.southerncalifornialivesteamers.com/Forum/forum_topics.asp?FID=18&SID=336957b14adb9765a37dez9785dz6cz7&title=steam-locomotive-construction
Harlock

Post by Harlock »

All I know is that one of those mesh pencil holders upside down does NOT work. :) All it does is melt the coating of the holder all over your smokebox. :D :D

The upshot is that it made the smokebox very realistically dirty for a photo shoot later...

It was what my friends could think of when they found out literally a few days before driving up to TM.

Now, is that restriction all year around or just fire season?

At the triennial this year, it was an exceptionally dry time and only propane fired steamers were allowed out in the north 40 on the other side of the road, regardless of arrestors. I am wondering if that policy changes depending on the time of year.

--Mike
Attachments
The offending non-spark arrestor / pencil holder attached.
The offending non-spark arrestor / pencil holder attached.
Later that night...
Later that night...
Live Steam Photography and more - gallery.mikemassee.com
Product Development and E-Commerce, Allen Models of Nevada
JJG Koopmans

Post by JJG Koopmans »