First time builder.

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

jb bergman

First time builder.

Post by jb bergman »

Hello, I am JB Bergman,
I am about to take the plunge! I am a aircraft machinist for FedEx in Memphis Tn. I have a one man machine shop in Slayden Mississippi. Lathes, Monach EE, 15 in Leblond Regal, 24 " Pacemaker. Mills, bridgeport, Hurco Hawk CNC, Brown Sharpe #3 horizontal universal. Surface grinder, OD/ ID grinder ect.
So I am well equiped. I have wanted to build a locomotive for many years. I have the "means" to build most available casting kits. I have had Harris's Shay plans for years. I have looked into both the 90 Mikado and the RRS 2-6-0 Mogul.
I would like some advice on these or any other casting kits that I may not be aware of, for the first time builder. I want to start and finish my first locomotive in 3 years. I do watch discover live steam for particials and casting kits. You see, I have it BAD!
I don't want to begin with a Conny or a Big Boy.
So fine builders, what do you recommend?
I'll be glad to answer and questions about myself as well.
JB Bergman
Steampipe

Re: First time builder.

Post by Steampipe »

Go with any Allen product. My ten wheeler is small enough to be managable, big enough to be interesting and plenty of chance for detail. With over something like, I'm told, over 1000 kits sold - consider this.
FLtenwheeler

Post by FLtenwheeler »

I will second the Allen. Last time I had my 10-wheeler out I was pulling a 15 car train with no problem. It is a great size locomotive.

Tim
Attachments
61.jpg
He who dies with the most unfinished projects: Should of put more time into their hobby.
jessebanning

Post by jessebanning »

I would also suggest an Allen locomotive. He has a good selection of locos and they can be detailed to look like anything. I personally like the American and Chloe.
www.banninglocomotiveworks.com

www.littleengines.com
jb bergman

Post by jb bergman »