need tire making info!!!!!

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

Tim Willard

need tire making info!!!!!

Post by Tim Willard »

I need to make tires for my atlantic. Last June at Train Mountain, some how???? A small piece of flange broke off a front driver. I'm having 4 tires water jetted by a friend. I need info on: tire height not counting flange, how much smaller should ID of tire be than OD of wheel, should tire be wider than wheel and turned after installation to match, what temp should tire be at time of installation, how much tread should be taken off of cast iron wheel, I've never tried this before so any info is a help. Thanks Tim
Lovesthedrive

Re: need tire making info!!!!!

Post by Lovesthedrive »

one thousandth per inch is the rule of thumb. Under 2 inches diameter = 0.001"
1969 MF 40 Industrial
WJH

Post by WJH »

You know, shrink fit is one way, another way possibly could be a slip fit with loctite? Has anyone tried this?
cbrew

Post by cbrew »

i have ten wheel/tires under my belt. I will be happy to answer any questions you have.

1) tires can be as thin as .25 but mind are about .40 thick, you would have to see how much you can remove from the wheel, this will tell you how thick you can make the

2) I turned a shoulder for the tire to rest against while it cools
3) interference fit = one thou per inch plus one thou.
4) I heated the tires on the bbq.

I have many pictures if you like
If it is not live steam. its not worth it.
LivingLegend

Post by LivingLegend »

Prototype driver tires were mostly 3-1/2" thick.... So an 80" driver would have a driver center of 73" diameter.

I take it your loco is a LE Atlantic with 10" drivers. So for prototype proportion, turn the drivers to 9.125 dia. and make your tires nominal .4375 thick (add extra for the flange depth and machining allowance on the tread) to give you the 10" finished driver diameter.

LL
Do it right.... Or don't do it at all