Working sanders for locomotive.

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

johnluke

Working sanders for locomotive.

Post by johnluke »

Hi guys/gals
I have a 1.5 Pennsy k-4 that has been running for several years now. One of the clubs I visit has a couple grades that the locomotive slips on quite a bit with a decent train behind it. I'm kicking the idea around of making working sanders for it. I've searched and searched with no luck finding any drawings or ways to make this happen. Just wondering if any of you have any ideas? Thanks for any input.
John
cp4449

Re: Working sanders for locomotive.

Post by cp4449 »

I am no expert on this, but at LALS our steam engine sander is gravity fed. There is a manual valve I open and close and the sand runs down. We use play sand that is very dry.

Every Berksire I have seen has them. I would assume that there is a air pressure helping to send the sand. The other thing that is a problem is the fineness of the sand.

Anyone else out there care to comment? Any Berkshire owners?
Christopher P. Mahony
Los Angeles Live Steamers
1 inch scale member
Harold_V

Post by Harold_V »

cp4449 wrote: I would assume that there is a air pressure helping to send the sand. The other thing that is a problem is the fineness of the sand.
You can solve that riddle by buying bagged silica sand. It's available in a #70, which is quite fine and should flow effortlessly.
Be careful of breathing the dust, however.

I buy it from a concrete supply house in a nearby town, but it is not used as suggested. Can't comment if it would work, or not, but I suspect it would.

Harold
Wise people talk because they have something to say. Fools talk because they have to say something.
johnluke

Post by johnluke »