Metal for Wear Shoes

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

nkprr175

Metal for Wear Shoes

Post by nkprr175 »

In a previous thread about tenders I'm building my trailing truck and someone pointed out where to get metal from.

I called Admiral metals to obtain a 20 Gage brass sheet but since I'm new to the metal numbers game they were asking what mix I needed so I did not place the order as I did not know what to tell them.

What I'm trying to accomplish is make wear shoes so my trailing truck box will rub again brass shoes instead of the aluminum casting. I'm going to use a metal break to make the shoes and then fit them to the trailing truck.

What alloy mix of brass should I be using? I see so many numbers such as 260, 300, 180. Its all Greek to me.

Thanks!!

Steven Harvey
Fender

Re: Metal for Wear Shoes

Post by Fender »

Not clear to me what this will be used for. Are you trying to put a lining on an aluminum brake shoe to stop the locomotive, or are you putting a sleeve bearing inside of an aluminum bearing box for the axle to turn against? In either case, brass is not a good choice. For the former use I would suggest a composition brake lining material that is epoxied onto the casting. For the latter, you'll want to use a bronze bearing such as SAE-660, aka alloy C93200 which is 83/7/7/3 copper/lead/tin/zinc.
Dan Watson
Chattanooga, TN
nkprr175

Post by nkprr175 »

As you can see on the delta training truck where the axle boxes would ride. I'm looking to make shoes so the axle boxes would not rub on the casting but on the shoes attached to the casting. Thus the wear surface would be on the shoes and the axle boxes and not eating way at the casting.