VFD settings

This forum is dedicated to those Hobbyists Interested in CNC machining in their home shops. (Digital Read Outs are also topical, as is CAD/CAM as it relates to CNC)

Moderator: Harold_V

hobgobbln

VFD settings

Post by hobgobbln » Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:07 pm

Last week I swapped out the motor on my lathe for a 3 phase and a TECO VFD. Now I am trying to get it tuned up but I've never used a VFD before. The number of settings and terrible documentation is making it tough.

Running Mach3 off the parallel port, into a Gecko G540. I've also got an index pulse card up and running so I know the actual RPM it's spinning.

After some hair pulling, I can start and stop the motor and vary its speed (funny story for another day). Problem is the requested spindle speed and the actual spindle speed are way off. I setup the pulley for 0 to 1000 RPM for testing. I charted the requested speed, the actual speed, the frequency the VFD was using and the 0 to 10v voltage coming into the VFD. I'm getting a spike in the lower rpm and the rest are higher than they should be. For the sake of testing I changed the pulley speeds to 0 to 3300 rpm, measured everything again and got the same spike. I don't see any way of altering Mach3 to fix it.

Would messing with the VFD bias or gain help to bring things closer to being linear? Any other settings/thoughts/suggestions? It's driving me nuts.

Thanks,
Griz
Attachments
vfd_curve.JPG

hobgobbln

Re: VFD settings

Post by hobgobbln » Tue Dec 02, 2014 11:10 pm

I just noticed the scale on the bottom of the chart says 1-10%. It's actually 10-100%. Seems my graphing needs some work too :lol:

mfletch

Post by mfletch » Wed Dec 03, 2014 1:14 pm

What frequency is the VFD set on what Hertz if your normal Hertz is 50 and the VFD it showing 60 the motor will run faster

Im not sure where your located but here in the UK were set at 50Hertz so when the VFD is on 50 the motor should be running at its max speed

hobgobbln