Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

This forum is dedicated to those Hobbyists Interested in CNC machining in their home shops. (Digital Read Outs are also topical, as is CAD/CAM as it relates to CNC)

Moderator: Harold_V

Glenn Brooks
Posts: 1240
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 1:39 pm
Location: Woodinville, Washington

Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Post by Glenn Brooks » Sat Feb 28, 2015 3:13 am

Can anybody comment on whether Fusion 360 is ready for prime time - at least doing parts drawings and 3D renditions???

Thanks
Glenn
Moderator - Grand Scale Forum

Motive power : 1902 A.S.Campbell 4-4-0 American - 12 5/8" gauge, 1955 Ottaway 4-4-0 American 12" gauge

Ahaha, Retirement: the good life - drifting endlessly on a Sea of projects....

User avatar
ken572
Posts: 2600
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 8:11 pm
Location: Mesa, Arizona. 85201-1517

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Post by ken572 » Sat Feb 28, 2015 2:48 pm

You can download a FREE TRIAL here: 8)

http://www.autodesk.com/products/fusion ... fgodMhMATg

Enjoy. :wink:

Ken. :)
One must remember.
The best learning experiences come
from working with the older Masters.
Ken.

mspetersen
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:26 pm

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Post by mspetersen » Wed May 13, 2015 5:00 am

I see they now offer the full Fusion 360 Ultimate package for $300/yr. Pretty reasonable for 3D drawing software that includes CAM set-up software, which Solidworks does not. Its also available in a Mac version, for you apple fans, so you don't have to flip over to Bootcamp to run it.
Mark Petersen

12" x 36" Logan Lathe
Lagun FTV-3 Mill

kvom
Posts: 1163
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 11:38 am
Location: Cumming, GA

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Post by kvom » Sun Jun 28, 2015 9:29 am

Seems there wit will be free to hobbyists. CAM is based on HSMWorks, which is a proven product.

woodguy
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:57 pm

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Post by woodguy » Wed Jul 01, 2015 6:35 pm

It's free now - you can sign up for a 1 year (renewable) "enthusiast" license.

I've done a little with it the past couple of days and it looks good. I tried onshape but found that the network traffic was too much for my limited bandwidth. Fusion 360, while exhibiting some delays, is perfectly usable.

WJH
Posts: 1373
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:29 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Post by WJH » Sun Jun 12, 2016 11:23 pm

I replaced Solidworks with Fusion360

User avatar
jschoenly
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 7:51 pm
Location: Spring City, PA

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Post by jschoenly » Mon Jun 13, 2016 1:39 pm

I'm working on using Fusion 360 as my CAD having come from Solidworks/ProE etc. I'm still getting used to some things, but I like it a lot. Using the CAM for Mill and Lathe as well. I've already been able to edit the posts a little for my machines and I'm very happy with it.
Jared Schoenly

Cabin Fever Expo
Model Engineering of all sorts.....

WJH
Posts: 1373
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:29 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Post by WJH » Mon Jun 13, 2016 1:53 pm

jschoenly wrote:I'm working on using Fusion 360 as my CAD having come from Solidworks/ProE etc. I'm still getting used to some things, but I like it a lot. Using the CAM for Mill and Lathe as well. I've already been able to edit the posts a little for my machines and I'm very happy with it.
The one thing that drives me nuts is the way they do joints. They should stop trying to be different and copy Solidworks exactly in that regard.

User avatar
Dave_C
Posts: 934
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:34 am
Location: Springfield. MO.

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Post by Dave_C » Mon Jun 13, 2016 7:55 pm

Got the free download only to find it has no provisions for lathe work. Seems to be fine for mills!

A bit hard to grasp!

Dave C.
I learn something new every day! Problem is I forget two.

User avatar
WesHowe
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 9:52 am
Location: Huntsville, Texas

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Post by WesHowe » Wed Jun 15, 2016 10:13 am

Actually, I found it to be pretty easy to work with. I use it for drawings and 3D printing design. It is a parametric modeler, or so I have been told. If you turn off history or make a base feature you can draw up things with fixed dimensions, move faces around, and pretty much everything you expect for solid work.

Where it shines are things like sketching a profile, then turning it into a tubular body with revolve. Later on if you decide the lip on the tube is not right, you can edit the original sketch and the changes reflect in your work, even if you have by now combined the tube with another shape.

I'm a fan now...

WJH
Posts: 1373
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:29 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Post by WJH » Wed Jun 15, 2016 8:28 pm

Dave_C wrote:Got the free download only to find it has no provisions for lathe work. Seems to be fine for mills!

A bit hard to grasp!

Dave C.
No provisions for Lathe? Do you mean the Cam part of it? I never bothered to look at that part, but certainly you can model anything you want.

User avatar
jschoenly
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 7:51 pm
Location: Spring City, PA

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Post by jschoenly » Thu Jun 16, 2016 7:25 am

It certainly does have Lathe CAM, It's all i've used for CAM so far. In the setup, there is a drop down for Mill, Turning or Mill/turn and Water/Plasma/Laser. Works pretty well, although I lost some tool library items in my cloud folder....
Jared Schoenly

Cabin Fever Expo
Model Engineering of all sorts.....

Post Reply