What do you guys think of these for limit switches?

This forum is dedicated to those Hobbyists Interested in CNC machining in their home shops. (Digital Read Outs are also topical, as is CAD/CAM as it relates to CNC)

Moderator: Harold_V

User avatar
Bill Shields
Posts: 5554
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Somewhere in the World
Contact:

Re: What do you guys think of these for limit switches?

Post by Bill Shields » Sun Apr 03, 2016 7:50 am

magnetic reed switches are the last thing that I would consider for this application.

adding the 'pulse' as described above is exactly what we do on more 'industrial' applications and will give you want you want long-term.

There is nothing more annoying than setting up a job, having all the tools 'where you want them' and having to start over the next morning.
Too many things going on to bother listing them.

User avatar
Dave_C
Posts: 960
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:34 am
Location: Springfield. MO.

Re: What do you guys think of these for limit switches?

Post by Dave_C » Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:49 am

Bill, I still agree with you but it is not all that bad for those of us who do not have pulse homing. Mach 3 uses a master tool table setup so you don't lose you tool offsets on power down. All I have to do is touch off my master tool to the stock, set zero's and go. Of course I'm working on a lathe and setting Z zero to the end of the stock is easy as I set a bump stop in the program to start which lets me get a repeat on the next part. The X is a little harder as you really need to take a test cut in a scrap piece, measure it and enter the measurement into the DRO.

Not ideal, but it is accurate!

Dave C.
I learn something new every day! Problem is I forget two.

User avatar
Bill Shields
Posts: 5554
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Somewhere in the World
Contact:

Re: What do you guys think of these for limit switches?

Post by Bill Shields » Mon Apr 25, 2016 8:06 pm

That's cool....but I still would not use those magnetic reed switches for that application.

Don't you also generally use them for limit switches?

The problem with magnetic switches is that they can accumulate 'magnetic trash' on the magnet, and before long they are tripping (or not tripping) at odd times.

I would recommend (what I use industrially) a proximity switch that is non-magnetic.

http://www.omega.com/googlebase/product ... 0wodyc0NRw

You can get them for $10 or so today and are industrial grade.
Too many things going on to bother listing them.

User avatar
ctwo
Posts: 2736
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 12:37 pm
Location: Silly Cone Valley

Re: What do you guys think of these for limit switches?

Post by ctwo » Mon Apr 25, 2016 10:23 pm

Bill,

It seems your link is just for the mounting bracket. The actual sensor is $255.

http://www.omega.com/pptst/LD701.html
Standards are so important that everyone must have their own...
To measure is to know - Lord Kelvin
Disclaimer: I'm just a guy with a few machines...

WJH
Posts: 1408
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:29 pm
Location: Florida

Re: What do you guys think of these for limit switches?

Post by WJH » Thu Jun 09, 2016 9:44 pm

Hmm, proximity sensors, my airplane has tons of those all over the airframe, for the gear doors, the landing gear, the cargo doors, main passenger door, etc. Anything that opens and closes and is considered either structural or safety oriented.
I'd hate to know how much the FAA approved version costs!

Post Reply