Screeching Sound When Milling

This forum is dedicated to those Hobbyists Interested in CNC machining & 3D Printing in their home shops. (Digital Read Outs are also topical, as is CAD/CAM as it relates to CNC)

Moderator: Harold_V

rexcsmith

Screeching Sound When Milling

Post by rexcsmith »

I'm fairly new to CNC milling, although I have successfully made a number of parts now.
I'm having trouble with loud screeching sounds during certain cuts. So loud I have to cover my ears.

Using a 1/2" 4 flute carbide cutter on 1018 steel. Cutting a 100% groove at .1" deep. 2500 rpm, 25 IPM (got values from CNC Zone's calculator). This happens using Kool Mist or Hangsterfers coolant from a fog buster. The cutter is always cool to the touch. You might say to slow down the IPM. I've done that and it still screeches at very low IPMs.

I think I've ruled out the tool slipping in the holder. It's as tight as I can get it, and I see no evidence of scarring on the tool, etc. It seems the noise is coming from the cutter against the metal.

I'm sure someone out there has dealt with this. Any suggestions?

thanks much, rex
SteveM

Re: Screeching Sound When Milling

Post by SteveM »

If you are cutting a groove in one pass, you need to use a 2-flute cutter, otherwise the extra pair of flutes is going to pull the cutter sideways.

If you need a really accurate width, a better solution is to use a smaller flute, cut down the middle, then do each side.

Not sure if that will stop the mill from screaming at you.

Steve
GlennW

Post by GlennW »

What's you tool stick out?

Try a shorter end mill.

Always use the shortest flute length cuter possible with the minimum of stick out.
Glenn

Operating machines is perfectly safe......until you forget how dangerous it really is!
rexcsmith

Post by rexcsmith »