Metric Lead Screw on Imperial CNC lathe?

This forum is dedicated to those Hobbyists Interested in CNC machining in their home shops. (Digital Read Outs are also topical, as is CAD/CAM as it relates to CNC)

Moderator: Harold_V

Post Reply
User avatar
SteveHGraham
Posts: 6813
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 7:55 pm
Location: Florida

Metric Lead Screw on Imperial CNC lathe?

Post by SteveHGraham » Tue Jul 05, 2016 3:26 pm

I am looking at ballscrews for the CNC lathe, and I have a new question.

Is there any reason why I shouldn't use a metric screw on an imperial CNC lathe? I will have to calibrate for any screw I buy, so it seems to me it makes no difference whether the screw itself is metric or imperial.
Every hard-fried egg began life sunny-side up.

User avatar
Dave_C
Posts: 924
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:34 am
Location: Springfield. MO.

Re: Metric Lead Screw on Imperial CNC lathe?

Post by Dave_C » Tue Jul 05, 2016 4:40 pm

Steve,

This question comes up all the time. You will find that most of the Ball screws and nuts are Metric because of where they are made! You can buy Imperial ball screws but you may pay 10 times the cost because there are so few Imperial Ball Screw manufacturers.

It really makes no difference, just set up and calibrate accordingly. Mach 3 allows for both set ups and once setup you can set the DRO to display Imperial if you wish.


Dave C.
I learn something new every day! Problem is I forget two.

User avatar
Bill Shields
Posts: 4954
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Somewhere in the World
Contact:

Re: Metric Lead Screw on Imperial CNC lathe?

Post by Bill Shields » Tue Jul 05, 2016 8:54 pm

considering that most controls (at least the industrial strength ones) operate in Metric and convert to Imperial.

Post Reply