Can't Buy Sensor for Stirling-Steel CNC Conversion

This forum is dedicated to those Hobbyists Interested in CNC machining in their home shops. (Digital Read Outs are also topical, as is CAD/CAM as it relates to CNC)

Moderator: Harold_V

User avatar
Pennsy fan
Posts: 714
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 1:50 am
Location: North Hollywood,CA

Re: Can't Buy Sensor for Stirling-Steel CNC Conversion

Postby Pennsy fan » Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:30 am

I have to agree with Dickybird, a positive marker is needed to set the same place in time no matter what speed your at. An opto is what a lot lathes seem to use. I have a small emco and that's what on the spindle.

User avatar
oldvan
Posts: 553
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Western NY USA

Re: Can't Buy Sensor for Stirling-Steel CNC Conversion

Postby oldvan » Wed Jul 16, 2014 6:37 am

larry_g wrote:... since this sensor has a 4mm range you need something proud of the spindle by greater than 4mm to allow the flag to trigger the sensor as it passes the sensor.

If one placed the sensor 6mm from the spindle and had a 2mm lump to trigger the sensor...

hammermill
Posts: 2938
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 10:43 pm
Location: pendleton or

Re: Can't Buy Sensor for Stirling-Steel CNC Conversion

Postby hammermill » Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:47 am

you would be at the outer edge of range better to adj it for 2mm of clearance for reliability

User avatar
SteveHGraham
Posts: 6564
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 7:55 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Can't Buy Sensor for Stirling-Steel CNC Conversion

Postby SteveHGraham » Wed Jul 16, 2014 11:40 am

I guess I'll just do what the plans say. It doesn't really matter.
Don't trigger me, bro!

User avatar
larry_g
Posts: 227
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2004 11:19 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: Can't Buy Sensor for Stirling-Steel CNC Conversion

Postby larry_g » Wed Jul 16, 2014 1:50 pm

SteveHGraham wrote:I guess I'll just do what the plans say. It doesn't really matter.

Good plan. In all the years I worked with these type sensors I just treated them as a non contact switch. Some of the machines I worked with had hundreds of prox sensors on them. There were times that one had to pay attentions to setup and switching times, but most of the time its just a switch.

lg
no neat sig line
I am unique, just like everyone else.

abarski010
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 7:46 pm

Re: Can't Buy Sensor for Stirling-Steel CNC Conversion

Postby abarski010 » Sun May 21, 2017 9:04 pm

Which sensor do I need for the CNC Conversion kit? The one equipped with PNP, NPN, Both, or do all of them work just have to wire them up correctly?


Return to “Home Shop CNC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests