Newbie with CNC conversion questions

This forum is dedicated to those Hobbyists Interested in CNC machining & 3D Printing in their home shops. (Digital Read Outs are also topical, as is CAD/CAM as it relates to CNC)

Moderator: Harold_V

Rich K.

Newbie with CNC conversion questions

Post by Rich K. »

Hello, all! I have over 15 years' experience working in CNC shops, and now I want to convert my Harbor Freight 44991/Sieg X2 mini-mill to CNC. I have the blueprints from FigNoggle, plus I have three Wantai 57BYGH633 270oz-in 3A stepper motors on order.

I am on an extremely tight budget, unfortunately. This is going to be a "Johnny Cash" project in the first place ("One Piece At A Time"). I can save some money by making the motor mounts and other assorted brackets on the machinery at work. One thing I am somewhat ignorant about is drivers for the stepper motors.

If I am not mistaken, I need an interface board of some sort to hook up between the computer and the motors, and possibly individual boards between the motors and the control board. Does anyone make an inexpensive 4-axis all-in-one board that I can just plug into the computer and hook the motors and power supply to? Gecko is way too expensive - I'd prefer under $100 if possible (I can upgrade later).
SteveHGraham

Re: Newbie with CNC conversion questions

Post by SteveHGraham »

I am going through this right now, with a Big Dog mini-lathe. I don't know anything, but I am doing a lot of research.

You will need CAD software to draw parts. You will need CAM software to turn it into Gcode the electronics understand. You will need some kind of software like Mach3 or KmotionCNC to feed the code to the electronics.

After that, you need a controller board and a driver board. The controller board tells the driver board what to do, and the driver powers the motors. You will need a power supply for the driver board.