I have used lathes with power feed... CNC good/bad?

This forum is dedicated to those Hobbyists Interested in CNC machining & 3D Printing in their home shops. (Digital Read Outs are also topical, as is CAD/CAM as it relates to CNC)

Moderator: Harold_V

BassVape

I have used lathes with power feed... CNC good/bad?

Post by BassVape »

I have been handy with equipment ever since I was a little guy. I was a Cabinet maker, apprentice tool maker/machinist, even studied engineering.... Ended up with a degree in Chemistry and now I am a full time musician. I want to make some specific parts and not to difficult to begin with, but what happens when I want/need to make 50 or 500?

I look at pictures of Small, micro CNC mills and Lathes, and it looks as if it's one or the other. Full manual control or program code.... I've never done(if i did it was press program 1 execute).

I am going to be working with Al, CU(101), and maybe some alloys of the two mixed. oh and SS.

I have looked at what standard stock is out there and I'm going to have to either get solid rod or materials that are going to need a ton of cutting to size. This is kinda a side business that could make me some money, a ton of it, or just pass the time when I'm not traveling.

Any suggestions? I have a budget of maybe $4000.00 and I would like to be able to make all kinds of odds and ends, but if i stick to a manual machine I may collapse b4 I see any progress. :shock:

How hard is the transition, and I think many hobbyists find this negative but the metric system doesn't scare me. copper threads on pure copper in a hurry scare me.

thanks for any help
RJ
Will's 2882

Re: I have used lathes with power feed... CNC good/bad?

Post by Will's 2882 »

You may be able to find used machines to do the job with $4000.
How big are the parts you want to make? Larger machines cost more, but can make large and small parts.
With the types of material you talked about you will need strong machines, not toys.