side cutting slitting saw use, feed speed?

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

LarryMck

side cutting slitting saw use, feed speed?

Post by LarryMck »

I need to cut a slot centered in 3/8 x 1" wide 304 stainless. The slot needs to be 5/8 inch deep 5/64 wide and runs through the 1" width. I have very little experience using slitting saws. I do not have cutting oil on my mill but I do have it on my lathe. The slitting saw I have is 4" diameter.

If I use my lathe I will need to make a jig to attach to my cross feed and an arbor for the slitting saw.

I have an R8 arbor for my Bridgeport that will work but no cutting oil. I have a about 12 pieces to make that require the use of the slitting saw.

Can I make the cut in one pass or do I need to do it in multiple passes to get the the 5/8 depth.

Should I use the power feed or feed it by hand?

Off course the two things I am trying to avoid in getting the stainless hot and work hardening it and damaging the slitting saw that I just purchased.

Thanks

Larry
SB Heavy 10 and Jet 14" Lathe, Bridgeport and Van Norman #12 Mill
Harold_V

Re: side cutting slitting saw use, feed speed?

Post by Harold_V »

LarryMck wrote:I need to cut a slot centered in 3/8 x 1" wide 304 stainless. The slot needs to be 5/8 inch deep 5/64 wide and runs through the 1" width. I have very little experience using slitting saws. I do not have cutting oil on my mill but I do have it on my lathe. The slitting saw I have is 4" diameter.