Flux Core Requiring High Feed Speed

Welding Techniques, Theory, Machines and Questions.

Moderator: Harold_V

mcman56

Flux Core Requiring High Feed Speed

Post by mcman56 »

I'm an occasional welder so not very knowledgeable or skilled. I just finished a project and it required close to double the feed rate as recommended in the machine manual. The feed rate did seem pretty constant. I suspect this is really telling me something but I don't know what it means. Does this suggest a feed mechanism issue or a power issue? In the past I have always used a setting fairly close to the recommended ones. The welds came out OK...about what you would expect at my skill level.
  • The machine is a Miller Challenger 172 with max output listed as 170 amp
    It was set at the max power of 4 (it has 4 power settings)
    I needed a feed rate of about 80 out of 100, not sure of units. Recommended was 50.
    Wire was 0.035 flux core
    Material was 3 x 6 x 3/16" steel tubing. The whole thing is about 100 lbs so there is a lot of mass to pull heat away
I'm not sure if this is relevant but I also tried an old roll of 0.03 flux core. Penetration was not what it should be and there seemed to be more splatter.
I did not see any porosity. The roll was probably over 20 years old so I don't know if age is a factor. I do live in a very dry climate. I got the same result before and after using the new 0.035 roll so am pretty sure this result was the wire and not me.
Steggy

Re: Flux Core Requiring High Feed Speed

Post by Steggy »