TIG issues on aluminum. Arc wanders unless I use more amps (then it's too quick)

Welding Techniques, Theory, Machines and Questions.

Moderator: Harold_V

JohnnyK81

TIG issues on aluminum. Arc wanders unless I use more amps (then it's too quick)

Post by JohnnyK81 »

Hi guys,

Trying to teach myself aluminum TIG welding. While I'm new to this particular process, I'm ok with other welding, and mild steel on TIG seems to be ok (albeit not great, but, different problems).

The issue I am having (I am just practicing on 1/8 aluminum), is once the puddle starts, she starts melting too quick. I am set to about 100amps (As per machine instructions. Any less and the puddle seems to take too long to form). By quick I mean, I don't think you could feed filler rod that fast unless you were a machine.

BUT, If I back off the pedal, the arc starts jumping around erratically. But once you press the pedal back down, the arc concentrates, but once again it starts melting too quick.

Metal is cleaned, filler rods are cleaned (not a filler rod problem obviously, but), acetoned, brushed. Tungsten is freshly ground longitudinally. Argon at 10-15cfm.
Machine is just a Hobart Ez-tig 165 so no real adjustment (Ac/Dc, amps).

Summary: Any thoughts? Basically, I want to be able to back off the pedal to slow down the melt rate so I can feed material in, but if I do that, the arc starts wandering. Is the whole piece getting too hot? I can't see that being the case or everyone would need to keep waiting to finish an aluminum bead.

Thanks guys!
GlennW

Re: TIG issues on aluminum. Arc wanders unless I use more amps (then it's too quick)

Post by GlennW »

Heat control on aluminum is a bit more critical than steel. It needs a bit more patience to get a puddle to form than steel does. It sounds like you are going from too much to not enough on the pedal when trying to get a puddle formed.

It needs fine movements of the pedal to maintain a puddle.