What do the weld lens numbers really mean.

Welding Techniques, Theory, Machines and Questions.

Moderator: Harold_V

dgoddard

What do the weld lens numbers really mean.

Post by dgoddard »

Welding helmet lenses and auto-darkening lenses are classified by numbers like 8,9,...12, 13. but what do these really mean. How much less light passes through a #12 lens verses a #10 lens?

What I am getting at here has to do with my problem of abnormally sensitive eyes, and not being able to see what what I am welding very well when my auto-darkening helmet lens is set to 13. Since the arc and molten metal is a "point light source" The amount of light reaching the eye falls off according to the inverse square of the distance, (i.e. double the distance from weld to eye and you get only 1/4 as much light). As a newbie, I have been trying to get fairly close to see exactly what I am doing, but if I can move my head back, I should get a lot less light (e.g. ultraviolet) and perhaps I can then use a lighter shade of lens and see more without having a problem with my eyes. It would probably also make less fumes which occasionally waft inside the helmet.

So:
A. What do the lens numbers really mean?
B. What benefit can I really get from moving my eyes back?
Falcon67

Post by Falcon67 »

If you are doing Mig welding, you have that lens set too dark. Here's a good discussion on lenses
http://www.lincolnelectric.com/knowledg ... lenses.asp
Chris -
http://raceabilene.com/kelly/hotrod
"Check all parts for proper condition before operation; if normal safety precautions are noticed carefully, this machine can provide you withstanding of accurate service."
dgoddard

Post by dgoddard »

Falcon 67,
That is an interesting site, Particularly their claim that: