Shear_modification

Sheet Metal Fabrication techniques, questions and help. "Tricks of the Trade"

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Cullen

Shear_modification

Post by Cullen »

Greetings,
I am new to some of you, but it was suggested that I post this info here. I recently went through a purchase and modification to an inexpensive shear from Harbour Freight ($279). I needed to cut some .022" #304 stainless steel. Out of the crate, it will not cut this material, after making a couple of simple (in retrospect) mods, it works fine now. I posted an article and pictures at http://metalworking.com/dropbox/. for anyone interested. The heading start is shear_mod_*
cheers and enjoy,
Cullen@AzFiveStar.com
mixdenny

Re: Shear_modification

Post by mixdenny »

Excellent example of how a little engineering can turn a marginal tool into a real performer! I have been looking at the same machine for some time. I take it that it requires a high effort for the shearing operation?

Denny
NAMPeters

Post by NAMPeters »

Did you follow up with jam nuts to lock-in your final setting on the 5 bolts?
Neil (Chief Hinder Scratcher) Peters
Cullen

Post by Cullen »

Denny,
Actually the effort is slightly less when it is shearing. Otherwise it is pulling material between the cutters and tends to jam up. There is a "crackling" sound when all is working well.
Cullen
Cullen

Post by Cullen »

Neil,
There are no jam nuts. The threads are fairly snug, plus there is no rotational force being applied to them. I think one they are set snugly, they should stay put without much effort. Time will tell.
Cullen
Cullen

Post by Cullen »

Denny,