Hey, I have just finished making an english wheel.

Sheet Metal Fabrication techniques, questions and help. "Tricks of the Trade"

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

ukmxer

Hey, I have just finished making an english wheel.

Post by ukmxer »

My wheel works and now I want to bend my sheet in the way I mentioned in my previous post (both directions).

My first attempt has gone in the directions I wanted. But the finished is poor.
Instead of the nice flow of a fender I have ended up with a fender with dents that can only be described as "eggs frying on the fender".
What causes these bumps. Am I being too heavy with my kick adjustment or are they soft spots in the Ali.

Also when I push the plate through in some parts the plate slips through, are these areas what I should somehow be controlling.

Please remember I am a total novice here and have yet to understand what I am doing with this machine.
D_R

Re: Hey, I have just finished making an english wheel.

Post by D_R »

Just curious, what's the TIR of your upper roll and the anvils? Check by hand spinning the the rolls slowly with a dial indicator point riding near/on center.

.001" total movement on the indicator is considered about the maximum deviation from true running you should see. If you have more, this could be part of your problem.
Jacin

Post by Jacin »

I think DR has already got a good handle on this in terms of runout of the wheels.

Sometimes you will get varying opinions on acceptable runout - and to make it worse those giving opinions will back them up with their own "years of experience" - which of course CAN'T really be denied. However the effect of the runout will be directly affected by the stiffness of the particular ewheel frame. The more flexible frames will tolerate MORE runout than a stiffer one.