drilling stainless

Sheet Metal Fabrication techniques, questions and help. "Tricks of the Trade"

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

matt k

drilling stainless

Post by matt k »

Hi, I'm new at working with metal...and am desperate for some help with this situation.

I have a welded assembly (one that's too large to fit under drill press) that I am trying to drill several 3/16 holes in. The material is around 1/16" 304 stainless steel. I bought cobalt drill bits and even tried with a smaller bit first to step up...nothing seems to work. I am going very slow with the hand drill and applying a fair amount of pressure and am about half done my first hole ( after about 15 minutes of trying)...is it supposed to be this difficult drilling stainless material?

thanks for your help
Blackadder

Re: drilling stainless

Post by Blackadder »

my guess is that you have work hardened it bet you put some oil on the drill bit

stainless needs to be cut not rubbed
gmacoffline

Post by gmacoffline »

sharpen your cobalt bit properly and go again. as soon as it stops cutting or even looks like it is failing to cut - stop and resharpen it again. do not run the dull bit under high pressure as it will wallow a big hole or track off into neverland, or just plain break off. this material needs a hard and sharp edge to cut it and if the material work hardens ( as it does so easily) then it will kill the edge quickly. sharpen the drill to the correct angle and profile and it will cut but it wont stop the material from hardening. use proper cutting lubricant for stainless, if any at all. on this size of material I have used dark cutting oil in a pinch and have seen neverseez or petroleum jelly used also.
gmacoffline

Post by gmacoffline »