Is melting aluminum illegal?

Home enthusiasts discuss their Foundry & Casting work.

Moderator: Harold_V

tittlek

Is melting aluminum illegal?

Post by tittlek »

I'm pretty new to metal working and just got the gingery book on making my own furnace. I've browsed through dozens of web pages on the subject and read every post I can and I have never seen anything mentioned about the legality of home shop foundrys. When I told my friend who works at a machine shop that makes aluminum horshoes he told me that it is illegal to melt aluminum. He talked to some other machinists he knows and was told that you have to have a proper license from the EPA and that if you were found doing it that the fines are quite extreme.

Am I getting smoke blown up my rear orifice? Or is there some truth in what hes telling me? I'd really like to build myself a home foundry but I do not want to do so if I need to get a permit to melt anything. I should also mention that I am in Pennsylvania outside of Philly, just in case these type of regulations vary from state to state.
Been you to have any spliff man?
Harold_V

Re: Is melting aluminum illegal?

Post by Harold_V »

I may be wrong, but I think your "friend" is smoking something illegal. To my knowledge, there are no controls on melting aluminum on a private, hobby basis. Should you get involved in a commercial operation and melt dirty stuff, painted, oily, like that, you would likely have more than your share of trouble with EPA with emissions, however. You'd want to avoid that situation anyway, because that introduces hydrogen to your metal, which manifests itself as little tiny voids (bubbles) in the castings. Keep dirty metal out of your operation as much as possible.

Build your furnace and enjoy! When you do, keep in mind that you may want to melt brass in the future, so be sure to build a furnace that is capable. Not too large, not too small, and able to melt metals up to 2,000° F.