some basic questions.

Home enthusiasts discuss their Foundry & Casting work.

Moderator: Harold_V

lodcomm

some basic questions.

Post by lodcomm »

Hi All,

I have recently completed construction of a small refractory using an old propane bottle. I removed the top, and lined the interior with a mixture of fireclay, perlite & a small ammount of portland cement. The burner I used
was basically a reil design, and I followed the plans used by this gentleman:

http://metalcast.boorman.us/reil_1.html

in any event my small refractory works like a champ..

I am experiencing a few problems, and have a few questions.. (I did aluminum casting 20+ yrs ago back in high school metal shop - so some of my memories are a bit rusty!)

My main problem is that I made my crucible from a piece of 4" steel pipe and mig welded plate steel to the bottom - the problem is: I cannot get it to stop leaking!@! - I am a fairly decent welder & the bead(s) I have layed on the bottom seam are clean and solid. It appears that the furnace heats my homemade crucible to a temperature where the weld fails? and thus the molten aluminum forces through a thin spot? - I dont know - I simply cannot (through any ammount of bead laying) stop this guy from leaking

however to correct this, I have ordered a clay graphite crucible from budgetcasting supply, and once it arrives that shoul dbe the end of the leaks!

my next question is - what are you folks using for parting powder, can I use talc? do I need to use the commercial powders?

-todd
Harold_V

Post by Harold_V »

Todd,