Long stroke

This Forum is dedicated to the Hobbyist I.C. (Internal Combustion) Engine Community.

Moderators: JackF, Harold_V

camerart

Long stroke

Post by camerart »

Hi all,

I'm just about to experiment with a long stroke diesel 2 stroke engine. I've never done engine making before.

Does anyone know anything about making an engine with a very small bore and a very long stroke, say, 5mm bore X 100mm bore?

I want to see what the power and the piston acceleration is like.
GlennW

Re: Long stroke

Post by GlennW »

Welcome to the group!

There are desktop dynamometer programs available that will calculate that for you. Not too sure they are available for diesels, but they probably are.
Glenn

Operating machines is perfectly safe......until you forget how dangerous it really is!
camerart

Post by camerart »

Hi Glenn,

Thanks for the welcome.

I'll look out for Dynamometer programs.

Thanks.
ronm

Post by ronm »

Did you mean 5mm bore by 100mm stroke?
A Diesel is really hard to make run once you get under about a 2" bore-the relative surface area to the combustion chamber volume makes it hard to get enough compression heat to ignite the fuel...this was discussed at some length in the old Strictly IC magazine, along with the difficulty of miniaturizing the fuel injection parts. Unless you're talking about the "diesel" model airplane-type engines, which are a whole different animal, compression-ignition, but not a true Diesel, since the fuel isn't injected into the cylinder. Kinda seems like that long a relative stroke would lead to breathing problems, but you're welcome to experiment...go for it!
JackF

Post by JackF »

camerart,

Try this site.....
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_10411 ... ntable.htm
It may lead you to some info.

Jack.
camerart

Post by camerart »

Jack,

I had a look at the site, and it is interesting. I also have engines to copy, but this is an experiment and I think unusual. Thanks.
camerart

Post by camerart »