Yet another Emco V10 owner and also a question

This forum is dedicated to those hobbyists with the 3-in-1 metalworking machines. Mill-Drill-Lathes. Tips, techniques, modification and use of these machines is topical.

Moderator: Harold_V

niedz

Yet another Emco V10 owner and also a question

Post by niedz »

greetings,

i recently purchased a used but in good condition Emco Maximat V10p!
im very excited by this.

i have been working in bicycle shops for the past 10 years, and from that i became interested in building bicycle frames and touring racks. from building bicycles and racks all by hand (files n hacksaws) i saw the need to machine parts, jigs, and fixtures. so i enrolled in the local vo-tech for night school in machining technology, and bought myself the V10.

there was one mishap to the machine during the move. the previous owner tried to remove the leadscrew crank handle, and broke the shear pin. i looked in the manual and it says to only replace with an original Emco aluminum shear pin. i was wondering if anyone had any recommendations on what i could use to replace this. i was thinking an aluminum trim nail might do it.

i look forward to asking many questions as i learn more!

daniel
spro

welcome

Post by spro »

Yes welcome and that's a very nice machine. If the pin is a pin and not a key your filing experience makes it short work. There are slight other considerations as all alum isn't the same. You DO want soft at this point yet nails are generally emergency. What I'm thinking is something that won't slowly shear off and smear between the parts but either IS or isn't(because it sheared before damage). The little keys they sell everywhere for lawn mower flywheels might be something but they are only 1/2" long.
-would need some filing, in your sleep, blindfolded.
Jose Rivera

Post by Jose Rivera »

I have owned a V10-P Mentor for about three years.