Used Emco V10P - what should I look for?

This forum is dedicated to those hobbyists with the 3-in-1 metalworking machines. Mill-Drill-Lathes. Tips, techniques, modification and use of these machines is topical.

Moderator: Harold_V

toyjeep73

Used Emco V10P - what should I look for?

Post by toyjeep73 »

Hi all, here is a typical first time poster … post :mrgreen:. Been reading a lot of these forums for a while and figured this is the best place to ask this question.

Well, long story short is that I am new to machining. I bought a 10x36 Atlas that I have learned I should not have bought, due to excessive wear. It seemed worn when I bought it, but I did not understand at the time how worn, and I took a chance. Well, I have messed around with it a bit and have figured that I need something a little newer and in better condition so I can figure out if I am the problem, or if the machine is. I think I can part it out for more than I paid for it and come out ahead.

I have read a few posts about the V10-P being a nicely built accurate machine, and since I foresee moving a few times in the next 10 years, a 3in1 may make that easier as well.

Anyway, on to my dilemma. Locally there is a clist ad for a Maximat V10P. From the color and the 4 speed mill head I am guessing that it is an earlier model (mid '70's I guess?). I have sent the owner a request to come by and look at it but have not gotten a response yet.

The pictures don't look too bad except for some rust on the tail end of the ways. I will have to see if that is from never getting any oil during its use, or just if it has been sitting that long. I have a pretty good idea of what to look for on the lathe portion, mostly the ways and the gears.

What should I look for on the mill portion? Anything in particular that wears fast or shows abuse easily?

It only comes with a 3-jaw chuck. Is a decent 4-jaw going to cost me as much as the lathe?