Need mill work for academic research project in NJ

This forum is for those individuals or small business to solicit requests for Service from those members of our group. Machining, Foundry work, Sheet Metal work etc. This site makes no guarranty of work or represenation by the users of this site. It merely attempts to provide a place to allow individuals the opportunity to meet and discuss needs and capabilities.

Moderator: Harold_V

Kaleckian

Need mill work for academic research project in NJ

Post by Kaleckian »

I'm a professor at Monmouth University (in New Jersey) developing a mechanism for an academic research project. I need some mill work--and ideally someone creative and curious. I'm happy to pay for this work, of course. It won't be very complicated. For example, see the attached photo: I need the sides of this extruded aluminum bare channel milled so the dice sit side-by-side and will not fall back when the front-end of the aluminum piece is raised ~45-degrees. This is the first step, several more to follow. Thank you. Robert
Attachments
20180306_000904345_iOS.jpg
Harold_V

Re: Need mill work for academic research project in NJ

Post by Harold_V »

Kaleckian wrote: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:20 am I need the sides of this extruded aluminum bare channel milled so the dice sit side-by-side and will not fall back when the front-end of the aluminum piece is raised ~45-degrees.
Achieving the fit isn't a big deal, but if the dice aren't perfectly symmetrical, it would be. A few tenths makes a huge difference on fits. You go from a press to a snug slip with just a half thou difference. Might not hurt to specify if the dice are inserted randomly, or always in the same relative position.

Welcome to the board.

H
Wise people talk because they have something to say. Fools talk because they have to say something.
SteveM

Post by SteveM »

Can you measure the dice and see how consistent they are?