Basic Gear Information

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

KellyJones

Basic Gear Information

Post by KellyJones »

I get the impression that many folks on this forum find gears and splines a bit of a mystery. I am a gear designer by trade and weekend (relative newbie) home shop machinist. I thought I might be able to repay the many machinists on this forum for their sage advice and wisdom by posting small, digestible bits about how gears and splines are designed, specified and manufactured. If the members find this useful I will continue to post on a semi-regular basis, and try to answer questions as they come up.

Some of this may seem pretty basic, but bear with me.

Gears are usually specified by the number of teeth, diametral pitch (or module), and pressure angle. The number of teeth is pretty obvious, but what are those other two things?

Diametral pitch (or module) is simply a measurement of the size of the tooth. Diametral pitch is defined as the number of teeth divided by the pitch diameter in inches. (More about the pitch diameter later.) The module is the pitch diameter in millimeters divided by the number of teeth. As one member is won't to say, standards are so important everyone must have their own. Since I am most comfortable with imperial units, I will refer to diametral pitch, or simple "pitch" from here on.

The pressure angle is a characteristic angle that shows up in many gear calculations. The simplest way to think of it is as the angle of the flank of a tooth of a rack (as in rack and pinion) with a vertical line.