Digital calipers

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Mr Ron

Digital calipers

Post by Mr Ron »

I have heard Harold tell us that digital calipers cannot be relied on to give precise measurements and that the micrometer has to be the go to tool. If that is the case, what, then is the function of the digital caliper? Do we really need them? They have been around for a long time. I also include dial and vernier calipers in this question. All the precision measurement companies manufacture calipers of all forms, so they can't all be bad. As far as I am aware, calipers can only read in thousands, while micrometers can read in ten thousands. Is that the reason for dismissing calipers? As an amateur machinist, I only work to thousands, but I know tens of thousands and even millions is needed and used in industry. Please set me straight as to the role of the caliper in the machine shop.
Mr.Ron from South Mississippi
WesHowe

Re: Digital calipers

Post by WesHowe »

I use calipers all the time. But I use a micrometer on the final cut(s) when I need to be tight. My observation has been that I cannot get consistent readings consecutively with the same calipers on the same work piece. I frequently find that after measuring a larger piece, when I close the calipers I am not longer at zero. I suspect there are two issues... first, the thin design of the jaws makes a reliable, repeatable grip of round objects difficult. And second, as I understand it the electronics just count tiny marks as they pass by, and I am thinking sometimes they miss a count, because the re-zero problem I mentioned happens more often when I open and close the jaws faster.