Brass v.s. Bronze?

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

DianneB

Brass v.s. Bronze?

Post by DianneB »

I am preparing to build a VanBrocklin pump from Bill S. plans.

I have a large piece of bronze surplus to my needs but no brass.

Is there any reason to buy brass or can bronze be substituted in making the brass parts?

(I have very little experience machining small parts!)
Harold_V

Re: Brass v.s. Bronze?

Post by Harold_V »

It would be my opinion that substituting bronze for brass would be quite acceptable, as bronze has qualities that are generally not found in brass.

The chief difference between brass and bronze is the alloying agent. Brass is typically made with zinc, while bronze is typically made with tin.

Unfortunately, the line fades, and the above isn't necessarily true in all instances.

Be aware that some of the bronze alloys are extremely difficult to machine. Some are more difficult than tough steel alloys (I offer manganese bronze as an example).

Phosphor bronze is difficult to machine, while leaded phosphor bronze is amongst the nicest of all alloys to machine. Armed with this thought, it should be apparent that the alloy in question would be considered before making a decision.

H
Wise people talk because they have something to say. Fools talk because they have to say something.
Wolfgang

Post by Wolfgang »

I'd cut a small piece and do a little test machining to see how easy or difficult it is to get a good finish in reamed or bored holes; how easy to drill and tap the smallest screw sizes you will encounter, etc. w
pete

Post by pete »