Wheels under a mill drill?

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Lewayne

Wheels under a mill drill?

Post by Lewayne »

So, I bought a round column mill drill with the geared head. (A Rong Fu 40 I suppose)

I know what everybody thinks and I've weighed it all out for my personal use and expectations. It's probably a better machine then I am a machinist anyway. I found it locally and cheap, as it has a lot of rust and grime. (so no shipping) Not abused as much as seriously neglected. build in 2003. Its been sitting in a damp environment for years unused. Of course all of Houston is a damp environment.

I'll disassemble it and clean everything and get rid of all the rust, re-lube. I'm OK with that. I'll probably paint it again as well. It'll look new when I'm through, and work again. It runs fine now though.

My question is, I want to weld up a steel stand and put drawers in it. I saw a cool stand in a photo and it had feet sticking out from each corner, a couple inches, with a steel wheel under them. Any thoughts on putting the machine on wheels like that? does that cause issues? I guess it should still have levelers to lock it down in place until one wanted to move it. Just not sure if wheels, at all, is a good idea.

One other thing, and I don't know if I would do this soon, but has anyone ordered one of those Tru-Line-8 guide rails for correcting the head movement and re-alignment issues?
jcfx

Re: Wheels under a mill drill?

Post by jcfx »

Congrats on the mill purchase, I'm sure you'll find a myriad of things to do with it.

Build the stand to suit your workshop space considerations and work methods, better that the wheels are only used for moving rather than