Splicing Romex?

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: Harold_V, websterz, GlennW

User avatar
SteveHGraham
Posts: 7788
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 7:55 pm
Location: Florida

Splicing Romex?

Post by SteveHGraham » Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:33 am

I finally have my shop fixed up to where I can do some work (other than working ON the shop), but there are still things I have to do. I have only one outlet on one side of the shop, and I want to put another in. I have a couple of options. I can run romex to an existing outlet and try to attach it to the wires screwed to the outlet, or I can splice into the romex going to the first outlet, which would be somewhat less of a Bubba job.

My question: is there a workmanlike way to splice into romex, or is it a stupid idea?

I guess I could also run a whole new wire all the way to the panel. The wire would cost me around $100.
Every hard-fried egg began life sunny-side up.

User avatar
SteveHGraham
Posts: 7788
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 7:55 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Splicing Romex?

Post by SteveHGraham » Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:36 am

Now that I think about it, I want to have a total of three outlets on that line, so I need the original three wires to connect to 6. I guess a junction box would work.
Every hard-fried egg began life sunny-side up.

User avatar
warmstrong1955
Posts: 3506
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:05 pm
Location: Northern Nevada

Re: Splicing Romex?

Post by warmstrong1955 » Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:45 am

When I added outlets, I added some breakers, in a new bigger panel, and then daisy-chained 'em.
Romex to the first one, another piece of Romex from the first outlet to the second....and so on.
If I have an outlet go bad, I have to unscrew 6 wires instead of three. Big deal....not like it happens a lot.
I split things up. Lights are on two breakers, back wall on another, etc etc.
Today's solutions are tomorrow's problems.

User avatar
Bentworker
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:29 am
Location: State of Jefferson

Re: Splicing Romex?

Post by Bentworker » Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:48 am

There are plenty of ways to go about it. As long as you don't exceed box fill, use good technique and quality wire nuts (I like 3M brand) you should be good to go.

Personally I find any of the "code check" flip books by Taunton press to be the best basic reference for code compliance. Code Check Electrical by Taunton is worth every penny in my opinion. The flip books are laminated, so they hold up to rain and dirty hands. Illustrations are excellent - simple and clear. Think of it as the best "idiots guide" to the NEC. If you have ever sat down and tried to read the NEC book cover to cover you can see the value in a "cliff notes" version.

My opinion is that you buy the book - give it a read and go for it.

https://www.tauntonstore.com/building-codes.html
Shop toys...
10X54" Vectrax GS20F mill with DRO & frequency drive (saved from the scrap pile).
Jet 13x40 lathe.
Powermatic 1150 drill press.
I love Craigslist!

User avatar
SteveHGraham
Posts: 7788
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 7:55 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Splicing Romex?

Post by SteveHGraham » Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:56 am

Thanks for the book recommendation. I ordered one.
Every hard-fried egg began life sunny-side up.

Russ Hanscom
Posts: 1693
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:10 pm
Location: Farmington, NM

Re: Splicing Romex?

Post by Russ Hanscom » Thu Sep 05, 2019 11:58 am

As long as the splice is in a box. Out in the open and concealed splices are not allowed. And if in a box, not sure if it really a splice...

User avatar
BigDumbDinosaur
Posts: 1022
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Midwestern United States

Re: Splicing Romex?

Post by BigDumbDinosaur » Thu Sep 05, 2019 12:11 pm

Romex? Ugh!
——————————————————————————————————
I'm a caterwauling curmudgeon. What's your excuse? ☻

choprboy
Posts: 275
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 11:23 pm

Re: Splicing Romex?

Post by choprboy » Thu Sep 05, 2019 1:32 pm

Yes, as Russ said, no "flying splices" or concealed connections. I rewired my entire house and built/powered a workshop. Romex is very easy to work with, just make terminations in accessible boxes, strip back the outer jacket within the box, strip and wirenut the wires together appropriately. Make connections in an accessible outlet or ceiling box where needed. Romex needs to be secured (wire staple or strap) within 12" (as I recall) of the box. There is also a whole wire fill calculation for how big of a box you need.... but that gets a bit more in depth.

User avatar
warmstrong1955
Posts: 3506
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:05 pm
Location: Northern Nevada

Re: Splicing Romex?

Post by warmstrong1955 » Thu Sep 05, 2019 2:00 pm

FYI....if you are shopping for Romex, try Zoro.
I wired in a little on-demand water heater in my shop, and they had the best price on all the stuff to do it....breaker and everything.
Freight was free.
Today's solutions are tomorrow's problems.

LIALLEGHENY
Posts: 235
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 12:36 am
Location: Bohemia, NY

Re: Splicing Romex?

Post by LIALLEGHENY » Thu Sep 05, 2019 2:30 pm

Is the Romex wiring going to be concealed or in the open? Any chances of something falling on it or against it? If so run BX or use conduit. You don't want something falling into it cutting through the insulation. Where I am ( commercial shop) the code prohibits the use of Romex just for that reason.

Nyle

User avatar
SteveHGraham
Posts: 7788
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 7:55 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Splicing Romex?

Post by SteveHGraham » Thu Sep 05, 2019 6:22 pm

The workshop was built by the previous owner, and he was not a big tool user. He was happy with three 125V outlets. The construction company ran romex above the cinderblocks and trusses, along the walls. Conduit sounds great, but it would be a giant project going all the way back to the panel for all circuits, and the only benefit would be that it would look nice.

Back in Miami (spit) I used conduit, but I'm not doing it here.
Every hard-fried egg began life sunny-side up.

John Hasler
Posts: 1534
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 4:05 pm
Location: Elmwood, Wisconsin

Re: Splicing Romex?

Post by John Hasler » Thu Sep 05, 2019 7:28 pm

Stub plastic conduit far enough up from each outlet to protect the Romex from being bashed and fish the conduit down through it. Run all your wiring above ceiling height (sounds like the previous owner already did that). Make all connections in boxes.

Post Reply