Ball end mills

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Mr Ron

Ball end mills

Post by Mr Ron »

Good morning and merry Christmas. I just got a bunch of ball end carbide end mills brand new for free plus a bunch of other end mills including an index-able end mill. I have never used ball end end mills before. Obviously they can cut a cove with a radius the same as the bit, but other than that, what else can a ball end end mill be used for?
Mr.Ron from South Mississippi
pete

Re: Ball end mills

Post by pete »

With cnc you can do multiple axis blending by taking incremental cuts. A guy by the name of G. Britnell on the hobbyist engine building forums has done a whole lot of extremely complex manual machining using them and the more normal end mills to build working scale model V8 engine blocks and heads from bar stock to duplicate what the factory did with castings. Just be aware that at the tip of the ball radius your tool rpm drops off to zero. For the larger ball mills that probably doesn't matter, for the tiny ones it can contribute to tool breakage. One trick around that issue is tilting the milling head. Like anything else it depends on what your normally doing for how useful they are.
Mr Ron

Post by Mr Ron »

I suspect a ball end mill could be used to make a first cut to be finished by a square end mill in a slotting operation.
pete

Post by pete »