Strange zerk fitting on MSC milling machine

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

kpk

Strange zerk fitting on MSC milling machine

Post by kpk »

Hi,
I have a MSC Bridgeport knockoff milling machine and it has a strange zerk fitting on the left side of the head in the rear. It's below the motor and appears to be located in the housing where the lower motor bearing or shaft might reside. I've read countless things about NOT using grease on zerk fittings on milling machines, and I have a handle on all of them except this one. Every so often a machine DOES call for grease at a particular location according to the manuals some users state.

Any idea about my particular fitting? Grease or oil? I'm attaching a picture for reference.

Thanks.
Attachments
IMG_8366 smaller1.pdf
(77.33 KiB) Downloaded 259 times
NP317

Re: Strange zerk fitting on MSC milling machine

Post by NP317 »

What does the Manual for your machine state about that Zerk fitting?
I always defer to the Manufacturer's recommendations.
(I used to write operating and service manuals for medical devices...)
RussN
earlgo

Post by earlgo »

I can't see your fitting but if it is like this one then it was intended for a special lube gun for way oil so one couldn't use a standard grease gun. This is on a Producto-Matic small horizontal mill that I have been told was typically used for typewriter parts.
Mill table Zerk
Mill table Zerk
I replaced it with a normal Zerk but wrote a note on the machine to only use way oil in the table Zerks.
--earlgo
Before you do anything, you must do something else first. - Washington's principle.
BadDog

Post by BadDog »