Three pole, 3-phase switch

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Lightswitch
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2022 1:52 pm
Contact:

Three pole, 3-phase switch

Post by Lightswitch » Tue Jan 18, 2022 11:34 pm

I am building a prototype that includes using a 3-phase AC PMSG as a motor and a generator. As a generator, the 3 wires from the PMSG are connected to a Full Bridge Rectifier to produce a DC current. As a motor, they are connected to a BLDC motor controller. Rather than disconnecting to change from one to the other I would like to know if anyone knows of a 3-phase switch that would switch current from one to the other, as per drawing: http://www.lightswitchracing.com/contro ... tifier.pdf
Last edited by Lightswitch on Tue Jan 18, 2022 11:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
SteveR
Posts: 307
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 4:17 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Three pole, 3-phase switch

Post by SteveR » Wed Jan 19, 2022 3:03 am

So don't you want a 3-pole, double throw switch? Like this?
three pole double throw switch.PNG
Looks like your picture:
overall.PNG
Or am I missing something?

SteveR
12x36 Enco Lathe, 9x42 Bridgeport, SMAW, O/A, Miller MIG w/gas
Not enough measuring tools...
1.5" Allen Models Consolidation in progress
1" FEF in progress
1" LE Pacific "Project"
3/4" LE Northern Project
Measure twice, cut once, make it again....

Lightswitch
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2022 1:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Three pole, 3-phase switch

Post by Lightswitch » Wed Jan 19, 2022 3:31 am

Looks about right SteveR . Were's the best place to buy one?

Lightswitch
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2022 1:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Three pole, 3-phase switch

Post by Lightswitch » Wed Jan 19, 2022 3:39 am

Just ordered one from Amazon. $13.82

User avatar
Bill Shields
Posts: 7748
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Somewhere in the World
Contact:

Re: Three pole, 3-phase switch

Post by Bill Shields » Wed Jan 19, 2022 1:29 pm

i generally do that type if switching with a contactor so that if (for some reason) there is a power interruption, you know the position to which the switch will reset...
Too many things going on to bother listing them.

Lightswitch
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2022 1:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Three pole, 3-phase switch

Post by Lightswitch » Wed Jan 19, 2022 2:05 pm

You're right Bill but it is just an add-on so I'm not too concerned. http://www.lightswitchracing.com/addon.JPG

Lightswitch
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2022 1:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Three pole, 3-phase switch

Post by Lightswitch » Tue Jan 25, 2022 5:09 am

tpdt.jpg
Arrived today.

Lightswitch
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2022 1:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Three pole, 3-phase switch

Post by Lightswitch » Tue Jan 25, 2022 3:18 pm

3PDT switch connected to Motor Controller and Full Bridge Rectifier.
Attachments
connect3p.JPG

Wolfgang
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 9:47 am
Location: S-W Ontario
Contact:

Re: Three pole, 3-phase switch

Post by Wolfgang » Tue Jan 25, 2022 4:42 pm

Just make sure it is a "centre off" switch, ie. a switch with a "middle off" position where nothing is connected.

User avatar
Bill Shields
Posts: 7748
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Somewhere in the World
Contact:

Re: Three pole, 3-phase switch

Post by Bill Shields » Tue Jan 25, 2022 5:01 pm

is that not, by definition a "DT" type of switch ?

I like the old 'frankenstein movie' type of knife switch
Too many things going on to bother listing them.

User avatar
SteveM
Posts: 7605
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 6:18 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Re: Three pole, 3-phase switch

Post by SteveM » Tue Jan 25, 2022 5:19 pm

Bill Shields wrote:
Tue Jan 25, 2022 5:01 pm
I like the old 'frankenstein movie' type of knife switch
Much more dramatic, but not OSHA-approved :-)

Steve

Lightswitch
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2022 1:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Three pole, 3-phase switch

Post by Lightswitch » Tue Jan 25, 2022 6:20 pm

Wolfgang wrote:
Tue Jan 25, 2022 4:42 pm
Just make sure it is a "centre off" switch, ie. a switch with a "middle off" position where nothing is connected.
It is an On-On not a On-Off-ON but I use the Off switch on the motor controller. I do think an On-Off-On would be better but I will use what I have now.
I will post a video.

Post Reply