Designing and Building a better built outdoor gas grill

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

timotb

Designing and Building a better built outdoor gas grill

Post by timotb »

Has anyone else noticed that most new gas grills built are built like crap? They are all junk and don't last.

I'm looking for someone or a small team interested in designing and building better-built gas grills from commonly available parts. Start with a simple 3 burner, 25x19 cooktop, all stainless steel, gas or propane. I want to defeat mediocracy, build and maybe sell them. See www.youtube.com/watch?v=sbJ63mLRWLc to understand the general concept I'm aiming for.

My name is Tim and my background is in homebuilding and aviation. I live in NorthEast Ohio. Currently, I'm mostly retired but stlll have ambition. The closest I got to being a machinist is building an RV7 aircraft from a kit. It still flys today. If I was 18 again, my career path would be in machine manufacturing.

If you're interested or have ideas or comments, lets hear them!
Bill Shields

Re: Designing and Building a better built outdoor gas grill

Post by Bill Shields »

But if you build it at the $$$'....will it sell?

I agree that grills are crappy...but that is what people are willing to purchase.

After all...it is less $ and easier to toss it out than clean it.
Too many things going on to bother listing them.
timotb

Post by timotb »