Hole Transfer

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

seal killer

Hole Transfer

Post by seal killer »

All--

I find that I transfer a lot of holes in my simple work. I am not very good at it, though. SOMEWHERE, perhaps in a catalog or online, I read about a very simple tool that was like a screw with its head turned down to a point. They were used by simply screwing them into the part and then taping the part with a hammer to "punch" the hole locations in the workpiece with the point. They came in several screw sizes.

What are these things called?

--Bill
ps Today, the smith-wessonforum rejected my application for membership based on my Internet pseudonym; seal killer. I have used that pseudonym for years on firearms and non-firearms related forums. I am an atypical educator: I KNOW that political correctness is destroying our country. That is why I chose "seal killer" as my pseudonym. The smith-wessonforum chose to censor me because of my pseudonym, while allowing language that would NEVER, EVER pass on this forum of gentlemen. (Plus, many other firearm's forums to which I belong: Gentlemen are gentlemen.)
You are what you write.
GlennW

Post by GlennW »

Transfer Screws

Traverse Tool sells them as does MSC Industrial.
Victor_R

Post by Victor_R »

This is what they look like. These are Heimann brand and each set has six pieces.
Attachments
screws.JPG
"The machines are gaining ground upon us; day by day we are becoming more subservient to them" ~ Samuel Butler (1863)
SteveM

Post by SteveM »

I picked up a set of those at a garage sale from someone who called himself a "retired machinist" but he didn't know what they were.