Motorized Geneva Drive

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Dave_C

Motorized Geneva Drive

Post by Dave_C »

All,

I finished the second of the Geneva Drives that I set out to make. The second one has a 6" driven wheel with a 4 1/4" driving wheel and six index slots instead of 12 like the first one.

This one has a motor undere the case and turns about 30 RPM or so. It has bearing blocks under the mounting plate to keep the shafts in alignment.

It turned out pretty good. I have a video of it running on YouTube! This is my first try at YouTube so I hope it works!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPA9_cqAC-w

Dave
Attachments
MVC00046.JPG
I learn something new every day! Problem is I forget two.
Jose Rivera

Post by Jose Rivera »

BEAUTIFUL WORK ! ! !

Piece of art!!

8) 8) 8) 8) 8)
There are no problems, only solutions.
--------------
Retired journeyman machinist and 3D CAD mechanical designer - hobbyist - grandpa
GlennW

Post by GlennW »

That is very nice!

After your video played another popped up for an internal Geneva Mechanism. It looks pretty interresting too!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FlBqMLDdcJc&NR=1

Thanks for posting the finished project.
Glenn

Operating machines is perfectly safe......until you forget how dangerous it really is!
seal killer

Post by seal killer »

Dave--

Well, I think it is beautiful. But, I have no clue where such a drive mechanism may be used.

--Bill
You are what you write.
JHenriksen

Post by JHenriksen »

I had no idea thats what that was called. Turret on big Warner Swasey VTL uses that for indexing the tools.
Jose Rivera

Post by Jose Rivera »

Type of scape mechanism, same principle but more complex than the ones used on clocks.
--------------